Locked accounts are CORE user accounts that have been disabled or locked so the user cannot log in. An example of a locked user is here.
In this article:
Why Lock a User Account?
Locking a user account is a useful security step in case a user's account has been compromised.
It's also an easy way to handle users who only need access to the system for short, specific times (examples: contractors and screeners), but might need the system again in the future.
Locking a user account immediately deactivates it, cutting the user off from their access. A locked account can be reactivated later, if needed.
What Happens to Locked User?
A locked user cannot log in. However the user's packages will still be saved along with their Inbox packages and other important information such as access role, name, company etc.
Likewise, other users can also still send packages to a locked user. In this way, the Lock Account function is different from expiring or deactivating a user. When a user is deactivated, they're no longer visible to other users and their account is considered inactive.
The Lock Account feature is a temporary security lock enabling teams to validate identity or investigate a security issue before further deciding whether or not to deactivate an account. In this way, if a user is cleared of any security risk, then they have not lost files, packages, or discussions during the Lock Account disruption.
For more information on Locking accounts, see Locking, Deactivated and Deleting Users.
How to Lock or Unlock a User Account?
By default in CORE environments, an account will lock automatically after five (5) failed login attempts.
Admins can manually lock or unlock a user account within an individual user profile by toggling the Lock Account feature on or off.